Help design the future of Work Organisation, Labour and Globalisation

Work Organisation, Labour and Globalisation was established in 2006, aiming to be international, interdisciplinary, accessible to non-academics and to contribute to the development of a dialogue among scholars and policy makers about the future of work. It has developed a profile as a respected and widely-cited resource on the restructuring of work and the changing global division of labour and an international community has grown up around it.

At a time when academic publishing is facing major new challenges, we are now formulating plans to take the journal forward in a way that makes it sustainable in the Open Access era, while staying faithful to our original aims.

We invite you, as a member of our global community, to give us your views about how the journal should evolve in the future and help us develop initiatives that can open up new forms of dialogue among contributors and readers.

We start with a few questions about your relationship with the journal.

Question Title

* 1. Have you written or co-written an article that was published in Work Organisation, Labour and Globalisation?

Question Title

* 2. Have you reviewed an article that was published in Work Organisation, Labour and Globalisation?

Question Title

* 3. Are you a past or present member of the editorial board of Work Organisation, Labour and Globalisation?

Question Title

* 4. Do you recall reading an article from Work Organisation, Labour and Globalisation in the past year?

Question Title

* 5. Do you recall ever reading an article from Work Organisation, Labour and Globalisation ?

Question Title

* 6. Thinking about the most recent article you read how did you access it? 

Question Title

* 7. Have you ever wanted to read an article from Work Organisation, Labour and Globalisation and been put off by the paywall?

Question Title

* 8. What happened next?

Question Title

* 9. If the contents of the journal were freely available, would you read more articles?

Question Title

* 10. If the contents of the journal were freely available, would you recommend more articles to students or colleagues?

Question Title

* 11. If the contents of the journal were freely available would you be more likely to consider submitting an article to it?

Question Title

* 12. Open Access
Along with many other journals, we are planning to move to an Open Access model, under a scheme whereby the libraries that previously paid a subscription to Pluto Journals (our publishers) will be asked to pay the same fees but instead of the fee being for their own library it will be to allow all Pluto Journals to be Open Access. While this seems likely to allow us to continue publishing in the short term, it is doubtful that it will generate enough income to sustain us in the longer term. We are therefore considering supplementing it with a membership scheme. Members would not just have free access to all articles, but would also have access to other benefits, such as free participation in online events.

Would you be prepared to pay an annual membership fee for access to the journal (combined with other benefits)

Question Title

* 13. What is the highest level of annual fee you would be prepared to pay?

Question Title

* 14. Do you think that your university or employer or another institution you have dealings with would be prepared to pay an institutional annual membership fee?

Question Title

* 15. What level of subscription do you think an institution might pay?

Question Title

* 16. Online events

We are considering organising regular 2-3 hour online events by Zoom. These events would be free to members, with non-members having to pay a fee to participate. These events might include:

*      Topic-based seminars in which several journal contributors present their work, followed by an interactive question and answer session;

*       Lectures by leading scholars in the field.

*       ‘Meet the readers’ events in which well-known scholars are interviewed by a member of the editorial committee and then respond to questions from the audience;

*       Policy dialogues between policy makers and academic researchers.

If the topic related to one of your interests, how likely would you be to attend one of these events?

Question Title

* 17. If the topic related to a subject that you teach, how likely would you be to recommend one of these events to your students?

Question Title

* 18. How likely would you be to forward details of the event to a friend or colleague or share on social media?

Question Title

* 19. If you are the author or co-author of an article in Work Organisation, Labour and Globalisation, how likely would you be to present your research in one of these events?

Question Title

* 20. Would you be willing to volunteer to chair or host one of these events?

Question Title

* 21. Timing of events
The timing of webinars in a global context is not easy. 
Here are five options for 2-hour seminars showing the timing in selected time zones.

OPTION 1
00-00-02.00 Pacific Standard Time
04-00-06.00 Eastern Standard Time
10.00-12.00 Central European Time (GMT/UST + 1)
14.00-16.00 Pakistan Standard Time
18.00-20.00 Australian Central Time/Japan Standard time

How convenient would this time be for you?

Question Title

* 22. OPTION 2
04-00-06.00 Pacific Standard Time
08.00-10.00 Eastern Standard Time
14.00-16.00 Central European Time (GMT/UST + 1)
18.00-20.00 Pakistan Standard Time
24.00-02.00 Australian Central Time/Japan Standard time

How convenient would this time be for you?

Question Title

* 23. OPTION 3
08-00-10.00 Pacific Standard Time
12-00-14.00 Eastern Standard Time
18.00-20.00 Central European Time (GMT/UST + 1)
22.00-24.00 Pakistan Standard Time
04.00-06.00 Australian Central Time/Japan Standard time

How convenient would this time be for you?

Question Title

* 24. OPTION 4
12-00-14.00 Pacific Standard Time
16-00-18.00 Eastern Standard Time
22.00-24.00 Central European Time (GMT/UST + 1)
02.00-04.00 Pakistan Standard Time
08.00-10.00 Australian Central Time/Japan Standard time

How convenient would this be for you?

Question Title

* 25. OPTION 5
16-00-18.00 Pacific Standard Time
20-00-22.00 Eastern Standard Time
02.00-04.00 Central European Time (GMT/UST + 1)
08.00-08.00 Pakistan Standard Time
12.00-14.00 Australian Central Time/Japan Standard time

How convenient would this be for you?

Question Title

* 26. And finally, a few questions about you
Please tick any of the categories below that apply to you

Question Title

* 27. What are your interests?
 Please tick all that apply

Question Title

* 28. What topics would like to see covered in future issues of the journal and Work Organisation, Labour and Globalisation online events?

Question Title

* 29. Would you like to get more involved in Work Organisation, Labour and Globalisation? Please tick any of the following that would interest you

Question Title

* 30. If you would like to be contacted in relation to any of these activities, please provide your email address

Question Title

* 31. Is there anything else you would like to tell us? If so please enter your comments below.  
Thank you very much for your time. We really appreciate your help.

0 of 31 answered
 

T